## PROCEEDINGS OF THE REGIONAL CONFERENCE ON THE APPLICATION OF TOPOLOGICAL METHODS IN DIFFERENTIAL EQUATIONS

Introduction. The present issue of the Rocky Mountain Journal of Mathematics contains selected proceedings of the regional conference on the Application of Topological Methods in Ordinary and Partial Differential Equations which was held on the campus of the University of Colorado in Boulder from May 31 through June 4, 1976. This conference was one of a series of five-day regional conferences held at various locations geographically distributed throughout the United States. These conferences are funded by the Mathematical Sciences Section of the National Science Foundation (NSF) with supporting services provided by the Conference Board of the Mathematical Sciences (CBMS) through the medium of a contract with the National Science Foundation. The objective of these conferences is to stimulate and broaden research activity across the spectrum of the mathematical and computer sciences.

There were seventy-five participants at the conference. The principal lecturer was Professor Charles Conley of the University of Wisconsin. There were five invited lecturers: Michael Crandall, University of Wisconsin; Paul Fife, University of Arizona; Jean Mawhin, Université Catholique de Louvain (Belgium); R. Clark Robinson, Northwestern University; and Jim Yorke, University of Maryland. The other sixty-nine invited participants were primarily drawn from the broad geographic region around Boulder.

Professor Conley delivered two one-hour lectures each day. The theme of his lectures could be described as applications of topological theorems to questions concerning the existence of orbits connecting equilibrium solutions for differential equations and generalizations of such ideas.

A prototype of the techniques discussed was the "shooting method" which makes use of the topological property of connectedness to prove the existence of solutions to certain kinds of boundary value problems. A simple observation of T. Wazewski places the shooting method as the most elementary instance of a fundamental principle which brings to bear all the topological invariants of homotopy theory. The first three lectures by Professor Conley were devoted to the Wazewski principle and its applications. One such example was concerned with the existence of a standing wave solution of the Kolmogoroff equation  $u_t = u_{xx} + p(x)u(1-u)$ . In the next three lectures, the notion of

isolated invariant sets, the Morse index and the invariance of the index under continuation was developed. The Morse homotopy index of an isolated invariant set is a generalization of the Morse index of a nondegenerate critical point of a gradient flow. In the final four lectures the ideas of filtrations and chain recurrences were discussed and a generalized Morse-Smale theorem was proven, then hyperbolic structures were developed, and finally applications to the three body problem were considered in the context of the previous lectures. These lectures will be published separately as a research monograph by the American Mathematical Society.

The other seventy-four participants were invited to submit their invited or contributed papers, subject to referee's approval, to the *Rocky Mountain Journal of Mathematics*. Thomas Sherman, director of the Rocky Mountain Mathematics Consortium and William Scott, Managing Editor of the *Rocky Mountain Journal of Mathematics* had agreed to devote a special issue of this Journal to the proceedings of the conference.

The sixteen papers appearing in this issue are testimony of the diversity and the power of topological methods being utilized in the study of differential equations and their applications today. The papers speak for themselves.

## J. Bebernes Conference Director

## LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Principal Lecturer

Charles Conley – University of Wisconsin

Invited Lecturers

Mike Crandall — University of California — L.A. Paul Fife — University of Arizona Jean Mawhin — University of Louvain, Belgium Clark Robinson — Northwestern University Jim Yorke — University of Maryland

## **Invited Participants**

Prem N. Bajaj — Wichita State University Jerrold W. Bebernes — University of Colorado Steve Bernfield — University of Texas T. Burns — University of New Mexico T. A. Burton — University of Southern Illinois Gail Carpenter — M.I.T. John Chadam – Indiana University Shui Nee Chow – Michigan State University Richard Churchill – Hunter College William Coles - University of Utah Robert Easton - University of Colorado Rick Elderkin – Pomona College Jim Ellison – University of New Mexico John Franks – Northwestern University Bob Gaines – Colorado State University Jack George - University of Wyoming William Grassman - University of Iowa Stephen Grossberg – Boston University Bob Gunderson – Utah State University Grant Gustafson – University of Utah Chaitan Gupta – Northern Illinois University Carl Hartzman – Dalhousie University Stuart Hastings - S.U.N.Y. Buffalo Henry Hermes - University of Colorado David Hoff -- University of Michigan Fred A. Howes – University of Wisconsin Sze-Bi Hsu – University of Iowa Chris Jones – University of New Mexico Walt Kelley – University of Oklahoma Arthur Krener – University of California, Davis Bob Liang – University of Kansas Dick McGehee – University of Minnesota Bob McKelvey – University of Montana David McLaughlin – University of Arizona John Mallet-Paret – Brown University Steve Merrill – University of Iowa John T. Montgomery - University of Rhode Island Bob Moyer --- University of Kansas Zbigniew Nitecki – Tufts University Bob O'Malley - University of Arizona Giampiero Pecelli – Hunter College William Perrizo – North Dakota State University Allan C. Peterson – University of Nebraska Aubrey Poore – Colorado State University David Rod – University of Calgary Robert J. Sacker – University of Southern California Duane Sather – University of Colorado Klaus Schmitt -- University of Utah

Keith Schrader – University of Missouri Allyn Scott – University of Wisconsin Hal Smith - University of Iowa Joel Smoller – University of Michigan Monty J. Strauss – Texas Tech University Ronald Svedlove - Stanford University Russell Thompson — University of Northern Illinois William C. Troy – University of Pittsburgh Paul Waltman - University of Iowa R. J. Wolfe - S.U.N.Y. Buffalo F. Wesley Wilson - University of Colorado Jay H. Wolkowisky – University of Colorado Hermann Flascha – University of Arizona Henry Kurland – University of Wisconsin William E. Fitzgibbon – University of Houston Dr. H. O. Peitgen – Universitaet Bonn Tien-Yien Li – University of Utah Kai-Nan Chueh – University of Colorado Paul Talaga – University of Colorado Warren Shreve - North Dakota State University