No. 3]

PROCEEDINGS AT THE 817TH GENERAL MEETING

The 817th General Meeting of the Academy was held on Monday, March 14, 1988, at 1:10 p.m., Dr. Yoshitaro WAKIMURA, Secretary-General, taking the chair. Ninety-six members were present, and the following communications were made:

La philosophie et l'iatrologie Hisayuki Omodaka, M. J. A. Effects of actinomycin D on the differentiation of hatching gland cells in amphibian embryos Eiji Ohzu and Norio Abe Chromosomal distribution of C-banded heterochromatin in cyprinid fishes Akinori Takai and Yoshio Ojima Fish gene mapping using mouse-fish cell hybrids
Fragile sites in newborns
rived from human gastric carcinoma Yasushi Masuzawa, Isamu Hayata, Tomohiko Ichikawa, Yayoi Ichikawa, and Tatsumi Toida Above five, communicated by Sajiro Makino, M. J. A.
Single-point blow-up for semilinear parabolic equations in some non-radial domains Yun-Gang Chen and Takashi Suzuki On algebroid solutions of some binomial differential equations in the
complex plane Nobushige Toda On the representation of the scattering kernel for the elastic wave equation
Tightness property for symmetric diffusion processes
Local cohomology and the absence of Poincaré lemma in tangential Cauchy-Riemann complexes Shinichi Tajima
On propagation of regular singularities for solutions of nonlinear partial differential equations. I
Above six, communicated by Kôsaku Yosida, M. J. A. Interleukin 6 (BSF2/IL-6) is an autocrine growth factor for human multiple myelomas
KAWANO, Toshio Hirano, Tadashi Matsuda, Tetsuya TAGA, Yasuhiro
HORII, Koji IWATO, Hideki ASAOKU, Bo TANG, Osamu TANABE, Hideo TANAKA, Atsushi KURAMOTO, and Tadamitsu KISHIMOTO
Communicated by Yuichi YAMAMURA, M. J. A.
Synthesis of stereoisomeric mixture of compound newly proposed for "auxin b" by K. Buffel
MATSUL M. J. A., Akimichi FURUHATA, and Teruko NAKAMURA
Evidence for a single thioether bond in heme binding of cytochrome c_1
from Euglena gracilis Kuniaki MUKAI, Masaki Yoshida, Yoshio Yao, Sadao Wakabayashi, and Hiroshi Matsubara
Communicated by Kazuo Okunuki, M. J. A.
The "ATP-dependent protease" in human erythroleukemia (K562) cells
is identical to a high-molecular-mass protease, ingensin
Toshifumi Tsukahara, Shoichi Ishiura, and Hideo Sugita Temperature-dependent inhibition of caffeine contracture of mammalian
skeletal muscle by dantrolene
Tsutomu Kobayashi and Makoto Endo
Above two, communicated by Setsuro Ebashi, m. J. A.

VI [Vol. 64(A),

After a recess during which the members present met in their respective Sections the General Meeting was resumed for business transactions.

First, the Secretary-General announced that Dr. Toshio Kuro-Kawa, M. J. A., President, had passed away on February 21, 1988; Dr. Hiromi Arisawa, M. J. A., Former President, on March 7, 1988. The members rose from their seats in silence, expressing profound sense of grief.

Next, Dr. Torataro Shimomura, M. J. A., paid a tribute of admiration to the late Dr. Takezo Kaneko's meritorious services to academic circles.

Then, the Chairmen of both Sections made reports of the matters dealt with at the respective Sectional Meetings.

After that, a decision was made of the recipients of Prizes for this year as follows:

Imperial Prizes and Academy Prizes to:

Tomi SAEKI for "Studies on the History of the Salt Administration in China"

Susumu NISHIMURA for "Biochemical and Structural Studies on Modified Bases in Nucleic Acids"

Academy Prizes to:

Takeshi Tokuda for "Japanese Fiction of the Edo Period and the Influence of the Chinese Novel"

Miyohei Shinohara for "Growth and Cycles in the Japanese Economy" and "Structure and Policies in the Japanese Economy" (Collected Writings of Studies of the Japanese Economy, by Miyohei Shinohara, Vols. I and II)

Kinichiro Miura for "Molecular Genetical Studies on Double-Stranded RNA Viruses, with Special Reference to Discovery of the RNA Cap Structure"

Masaki Kashiwara for "Study of Algebraic Analysis"

Yoshiyuki YAMAMOTO for "Fundamental Research on the Finite Element Methods for Stress Analysis of Structures"

Tomotari MITSUOKA for "Comprehensive Studies on Intestinal Microflora"

Yutaka Oomura for "Food Intake Regulation by Neuronal and Endogenous Humoral Control"

No. 3]

Finally, a decision was made of the recipient of the Duke of Edinburgh Prize for 1988 as follows:

Makoto NUMATA for "Ecological Studies on the Structure and Dynamics of Plant Communities"

The Meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

日本学士院紀要

昭和六十三年三月 第六十四卷 A 第三号

昭和六十三年四月五日 印刷昭和六十三年四月八日 発行

編集兼 発行者 日 本 学 士 院 東京都台東区上野公園七の三十二

印刷 所 株式 東 京 プ レ ス 東京都板橋区桜川二丁目二十七の十二

印刷者 依 田 高 夫 東京都板橋区桜川二丁目二十七の十二

Printed by

TOKYO PRESS COMPANY LIMITED

No. 27-12, Sakuragawa 2-chome, Itabashi-ku, Tokyo 174 Japan

Tel.: (932) 9291~4