## NOTES

The Committee on Economic Security, appointed by the United States Government to study phases of social insurance, has announced that its subcommittee on actuarial questions will be constituted as follows: Professor J. W. Glover, of the University of Michigan, chairman; President M. A. Linton, of the Provident Mutual Life Insurance Company, Professor H. L. Rietz, of the University of Iowa, and Professor A. L. Mowbray, of the University of California. This committee will advise the Administration on means of financing a program of social insurance.

In addition to the members of the editorial board of the Transactions of the American Mathematical Society, the following persons have assisted the editors by refereeing papers offered for publication in the volume for 1934: H. R. Brahana, Alonzo Church, A. B. Coble, L. E. Dickson, E. L. Dodd, L. P. Eisenhart, G. C. Evans, T. H. Hildebrandt, T. R. Hollcroft, Eberhard Hopf, R. E. Langer, Stanislaw Saks, P. A. Smith, Virgil Snyder, Otto Szász, T. Y. Thomas. The editors appreciate this assistance and desire to give it this public recognition.

The following volumes of the Colloquium Publications of the American Mathematical Society have recently appeared: volume 17: J. H. M. Wedderburn, Lectures on Matrices; volume 18: Marston Morse, The Calculus of Variations in the Large; R. E. A. C. Paley and Norbert Wiener, Fourier Transforms in the Complex Plane.

The second All-Soviet Mathematical Congress was held at Leningrad, June 24–30, 1934. The attendance included about six hundred delegates from various institutions in the Soviet Union. In addition to invited addresses, some two hundred thirty papers were presented at the sectional sessions. Professor S. Lefschetz, of Princeton University, delivered an invited address on Algebraic geometry, its methods, problems, and tendencies.

The Reale Istituto Veneto di Scienze e Lettere has proposed as subject for a prize from the Querini Stampalia foundation *The problem of turbulence in the dynamics of fluids*. A monograph is desired that will present the modern mathematical and experimental methods of treating this problem and will contain new contributions to the theory. Competition closes December 31, 1935.

The following medals have recently been awarded by the Royal Society of London: the Sylvester medal to Bertrand Russell, for his work on the foundations of mathematics; a Royal medal to Professor S. Chapman, for his researches in the kinetic theory of gases; the Rumford medal to Professor W. J. de Haas, for his researches on the properties of bodies at low temperatures; the Hughes medal to Professor K. M. G. Siegbahn, in recognition of his work on long-wave X-rays.

The Flavelle medal of the Royal Society of Canada has been awarded to Professor, L. V. King of McGill University.

The Cardinal Newman award of the Newman Foundation, conferred each year for "some contribution to the enrichment of human life," has been presented to Professor R. A. Millikan, of the California Institute of Technology.

The Nobel prize in chemistry has been awarded to Dr. H. C. Urey, professor of chemistry at Columbia University, for the discovery of deuterium (heavy hydrogen).

Associate Professor Karl Löwner, of the German University at Prague, has been promoted to a professorship of mathematics.

Professor Hans Mohrmann, of the University of Giessen, has retired.

Professor E. Trefftz, of the Dresden Technical School, has been appointed professor of mathematics at the University of Leipzig.

Dr. D. E. Rutherford has been appointed lecturer in mathematics in the United College at the University of St. Andrews.

Dr. Georg Aumann, formerly of the University of Munich, is in residence at the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton.

Professor G. A. Baker, of Shurtleff College, has been appointed head of the department of mathematics at Mississippi Woman's College.

Dr. Salomon Bochner has been appointed assistant professor of mathematics at Princeton University.

Dr. Richard Brauer, formerly of the University of Königsberg, has been appointed an assistant at the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton.

Dr. G. A. Hedlund has been appointed associate professor of mathematics at Bryn Mawr College.

Professor Marston Morse, of Harvard University, has been appointed professor of mathematics at the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, and will assume his duties there at the beginning of the academic year 1935–1936.

Professor W.V. Parker, of Mississippi Woman's College, has been appointed assistant professor of mathematics at the Georgia School of Technology.

Dr. Hans Rademacher, formerly professor of mathematics at the University of Breslau, has been appointed to a visiting professorship at the University of Pennsylvania, under a joint grant from the Emergency Committee in Aid of Displaced German Scholars and the Rockefeller Foundation.

Dr. K. W. Wegner, of the University of Wisconsin, has been appointed head of the department of mathematics at Whitworth College, Spokane.

At Alfred University, Professor H. E. Whitford has been appointed Dean of the College of Liberal Arts, and Professor Joseph Seidlin has been appointed head of the department of mathematics.

Among members of the American Mathematical Society who have recently entered the field of secondary teaching are the following: Dr. Charles Hopkins, at the Riordan School, Highland, N.Y.; Dr. T. S. Peterson, at the Shipley School, Bryn Mawr; Dr. M. F. Rosskopf, at the John Burroughs School, Clayton, Missouri; Dr. Edna Kramer, Dr. Mabel Schmeiser, and Dr. James Singer, in the New York City high school syetem.

The following appointments to instructorships are announced: Armour Institute of Technology: Dr. Rufus Oldenburger; Harvard University: Mr. W. C. Taylor.

Professor Francesco Gerbaldi, of the University of Pavia, died June 29, 1934.

Dr. P. Gianfranceschi, S.J., president of the Accademia Pontificia dei Nuovi Lincei, died July 9, 1934.

The death is reported of Ludwig Kiepert, professor emeritus of mathematics at the Hannover Technical School.

The death is reported of Michael Radakovic, professor of theoretical physics at the University of Graz.

Dr. Willem de Sitter, professor of theoretical astronomy at the University of Leyden, died November 21, 1934, at the age of sixty-three.

Eduard von Weber, professor of mathematics at the University of Würzburg, is dead.

Professor Charles Lincoln Arnold of the Ohio State University, died November 8, 1934 at the age of sixty-nine. His active service in this University began in 1890 and ended in 1930 when he was retired with the rank of professor emeritus of mathematics. He was for many years a member of the American Mathematical Society.

In the death of Daniel Alexander Murray, author of the well known *Introductory Course of Differential Equations* and of several other text-books which have had a wide use, this Society loses one of its oldest members. Professor Murray, who was born in Nova Scotia in 1862, was a graduate of Dalhousie University and a doctor of philosophy of Johns Hopkins University. He became a member of the New York Mathematical Society in November, 1890, and was its first librarian (1892–93). He became a member of this Society on its organization in 1894. Professor Murray taught at Cornell (1894–1901), at Dalhousie (1901–1907), and at McGoll (1907–1930). At the time of his death on October 19, 1934, he was professor emeritus at McGill.

Professor R. A. Wells, head of the department of mathematics and astronomy at Park College, died October 8, 1934.