PROCEEDINGS AT THE 835TH GENERAL MEETING

The 835th General Meeting of the Academy was held on Friday, January 12, 1990, at 1:05 p.m., Dr. Yoshitaro WAKIMURA, President, taking the chair. Ninety-two members were present, and the following communications were made:

Concerning the remains of Yoshinogari in Saga prefecture
Economy of Taiwan as NIES—In comparison with South Korea—
Functorial properties of second analytic wave front sets and equivalence
of two notions of second microlocal singularities
Yasunori OKADA and Nobuyuki Tose
On the eigenfunctions for the Sturm-Liouville equation: Viewed as
functions of the $S{-}L$ operator Takao Nambu
Remarks on the stability of certain periodic solutions of the heat convection equations
Estimates of harmonic and the state of the s
Estimates of harmonic measures associated with degenerate Laplacian
on strictly pseudoconvex domains Hitoshi Arai
Some aspects in the theory of representations of discrete groups. II
Nonmonotoneity of Picard principle for Schrödinger operators
Above six, communicated by Kôsaku Yosida, M. J. A.
FM-FM combination-sensitive neurons in the mustached bat's auditory
cortex. Processing of complex sounds in the VF area
Communicated by Yasuji Katsuki, M. J. A.
Antiserum against the synthetic polypeptide fragment of dystrophin
cross-reacts with myofibrillar C-protein
Masahito Yamaguchi, Shoichi Ishiura, Takashi
OBINATA, Toshifumi Tsukahara, Kiichi Arahata, Hiromi Takano-
OHMURO, Toru TAMIYA, Takahide TSUCHIYA, and Hideo SUGITA
Communicated by Setsuro Ebashi, M. J. A.
Invariants and Hodge cycles. III
Michio Kuga, Walter Parry, and Chih-Han Sah
A counterexample in the theory of prehomogeneous vector spaces
A note on class numbers Genjiro Fujisaki
Above three, communicated by Shokichi IYANAGA, M. J. A.
High pressure synthesis of rocksalt type of AlN
Heiner Vollstädt, Eiji Ito,
Minoru Akaishi, Syun-iti Akimoto, M. J. A., and Osamu Fukunaga
Observation of high energy solar particles on September 29, 1989 by
neutron monitors with high time resolution
Kazuyoshi Takahashi, Masami Wada, Emiko
SAKAMOTO, Masaru Matsuoka, Kazuoki Munakata, and Ichiro Kondo
Communicated by Minoru ODA, M. J. A.

Before the communication of papers the Chairmen of each Section introduced the following newly elected members:

II [Vol. 66(A),

Section I: Tamaki Ogawa, Makoto Saito, Kazuo Yamaguchi, Hirofumi Uzawa.

Section II: Katsuma Dan, Kazuo Yamasaki, Kazuhiko Nishi-Jima, Shutaro Yamamoto, Seijiro Morohoshi, Saburo Tamura, Toshio Sawada, Masao Ito.

After a recess during which the members present met in their respective Sections, the General Meeting was resumed for business transactions.

First, the President announced that Dr. Shinzo TAKAYANAGI, M. J. A., had passed away on January 4, 1990. The members rose from their seats in silence, expressing profound sense of grief.

Next, the Chairmen of both Sections made reports of the matters dealt with at the respective Sectional Meetings.

Then, it was submitted to elect Dr. Jacques Gernet to the Honorary Membership of the Academy on the recommendation of Section I. This was approved unanimously.

Finally, the President made a report on the activities of the Academy in 1989.

The Meeting adjourned at 4:25 p.m.

日本学士院紀要

平成二年一月 第六十六卷 A 第一号

> 平成二年二月五日 印刷 平成二年二月八日 発行

院 本 \pm 東京都台東区上野公園七の三十二

株式東京プレス 会社東京都板橋区桜川二丁目二十七の十二 印刷所

印刷者

依 田 髙 東京都板橋区桜川二丁目二十七の十二

Printed by

TOKYO PRESS COMPANY LIMITED

No. 27-12, Sakuragawa 2-chome, Itabashi-ku, Tokyo 174 Japan

Tel.: (932) 9291~4