## 193. On Axiom Systems of Propositional Calculi. XXIII

By Kiyoshi Iséki

(Comm. by Kinjirô KUNUGI, M.J.A., Oct. 12, 1966)

In our papers ([1], [5]), by using J. Lukasiewicz method, we proved that the Russell system:

1 CpCqp,

2 CCpqCCqrCpr,

 $3 \quad CCpCqrCqCpr$ ,

4 CNNpp,

5 CCpNpNp,

 $6 \quad CCpNqCqNp$ 

is equivalent to the classical propositional calculus.

In my paper [2], the propositional calculus satisfying the conditions 1-3, 5 and 6 mentioned above is called a *NB-system*. For any implicational calculus not containing the negation functor N, we introduce the symbol '0' as a propositional constant, and define Np as Cp0 (for details, see [4], pp. 50-51).

As well known, an axiom system of the positive implicational calculus is given by J. Lukasiewicz as follows:

7 CpCqp,

8 CCpCqrCCpqCpr.

In our paper [1], we deduced some theses from 7 and 8. For example, we proved the following theses:

- 9 CCpCqrCqCpr,
- 10 CCpqCCqrCpr,

11 CCpCpqCpq.

We define

12 Np = Cp0,

where 0 is a propositional constant.

9 r/0 \* C12 - 13,

13 CCpNqCqNp.

```
11 q/0 *C12-14,
```

 $14 \quad CCpNpNp.$ 

Therefore we have the NB-system.

If we add two axioms:

- $15 \quad CCqpCCCpqqp$
- and Wajsberg axiom

 $16 \quad C0p,$ 

then as already shown in A. N. Prior ([4], p. 51), by these axioms we have

 $17 \quad CNNpp.$ 

Hence we have the Russell system of the classical propositional calculus.

We have some axiom systems of the positive implicational calculus, for example, the single axiom by C. A. Meredith [3]:

 $18 \quad CCCpqrCsCCqCrtCqt$ 

or

19 CtCCpqCCCspCqrCpr.

The proof of  $18 \Rightarrow 7$ , 8 is found in C. A. Meredith [3]. On the other hand, recently S. Tanaka gives a proof of  $19 \Rightarrow 7$ , 8. They have not given the proofs of these converses, so we give the proofs by an algebraic technique (for details, see [2]). Following my method, axioms 7, 8 are written in the forms of

 $21 \qquad (r*p)*(q*p) \leqslant (r*q)*p.$ 

Thesis 9 means a commutative law:

 $22 \qquad (r*p)*q \leqslant (r*q)*p.$ 

As shown in [1], we have:

23  $p \leq q$  implies  $p * r \leq q * r$  and  $r * q \leq r * p$ in the positive implicational calculus. To prove thesis 19, consider  $q * p \leq p$  and (t \* r) \* (t \* r) = 0, i.e.  $t * (t * r) \leq r$  by (22). By (23), we have

 $(t*(t*r))*q \leq r*q \leq r*(q*p).$ On the other hand, by (21), we have

$$(t*q)*((t*r)*q) \leq (t*(t*r))*q.$$

By these two results, then

$$(t*q)*((t*r)*q) \leq r*(q*p),$$

hence

$$((t*q)*((t*r)*q))*(r*(q*p)) \leq s.$$

By (22), we have

$$((t*q)*((t*r)*q))*s \le r*(q*p),$$

which is the thesis 19.

To prove the thesis 20, consider  $p*s \leq p$ , then by (23), we have  $(r*q)*p \leq (r*q)*(p*s)$ .

By (21),

$$(r*p)*(q*p)\leqslant (r*q)*p,$$

hence

$$(r*p)*(q*p) \leq (r*q)*(p*s).$$

Then, by (22), we have

$$(r*p)*((r*q)*(p*s)) \leqslant q*p,$$

which means

$$((r*p)*((r*q)*(p*s)))*(q*p) \le t.$$

This is the algebraic form of the thesis (20). We complete the

876

No. 8]

proofs of (19), (20). Therefore we have the following

Theorem 1. The NB-system is obtained from one of

- (1) CpCqp, CCpCqrCCprCqr, Np=Cp0,
- (2) CCCpqrCsCCqCrtCqt, Np = Cp0,
- (3) CtCCpqCCCspCqrCpr, Np=Cp0.

Further we have

Theorem 2. The classical propositional calculus is characterized by one of

- (1) CpCqp, CCpCqrCCpqCpr, CCqpCCCpqqp, C0p,
- $(2) \qquad CCCpqrCsCCqCrtCqt, \ CCqpCCCpqqp, \ C0p,$
- $(3) \qquad CtCCpqCCCspCqrCpr, \ CCqpCCCpqqp, \ C0p,$

where we define Np = Cp0.

## References

- Y. Arai and K. Iséki: On axiom systems of propositional calculi. VII. Proc. Japan Acad., 41, 667-669 (1965).
- [2] K. Iséki: Algebraic formulations of propositional calculi. Proc. Japan Acad., 41, 803-807 (1965).
- [3] C. A. Meredith: A single axiom of positive logic. Jour. Computing Systems, 1, 169-170 (1953).
- [4] A. N. Prior; Formal Logic. Oxford (1962).
- [5] S. Tanaka: On axiom systems of propositional calculi. VI. Proc. Japan Acad., 41, 663-666 (1965).