No. 10] XXXIII

PROCEEDINGS AT THE 894TH GENERAL MEETING

The 894th General Meeting of the Academy was held on Tuesday, December 12, 1995, at 1:05 p.m., Dr. Yoshio FUJITA, President, taking the chair. Eighty-five members were present, and the following communications were made:

Bilingualism of the Paekche Language	Rokurō Kōno, m. J. A.
Mental health and law	
D-3He nuclear fusion reactors on the earth bringing back abundant He fro	
A physico-chemical study of the DNA-binding domain of GATA1	
Lucy Снотніа, Saburo Аімото, Tony Jor	HNSON, and Masashi Suzuki
Crocin improves the ethanol-induced impairment of learning behaviors of	
tasks Minoru Sugiura, Yukihiro Shoyama, Hiroshi Saito,	and Nobuyoshi NISHIYAMA
	d by Setsuro Ebashi, m. J. A.
Copula fields and their applications	Toshio Mikami
A characterization of regularly almost periodic minimal flows	
	nicated by Kiyosi Itô, M. J. A.
A mean value property in adele geometry	Masanori Morishita
Note on Siegel-Eisenstein series	
Table of quotient curves of modular curves $X_0(N)$ with genus 2	
Above three, communicated by	oy Shokichi IYANAGA, M. J. A.
Relationship between respiration and nutrition of the silkworm, Bombyx	mori
Kunikatsu Hamano, Mihail PA	ANAYOTOV, and Weide SHEN
	y Seijiro Moroнosні, м. J. A.
Synthesis and cell adhesion of poly(Arg-Gly-Asp-Ser-Pro)	
Yukio Imanishi, Shunsaku Kimura, Yoshi	hiro Ito, and Kazuo Suzuki
Communicate	d by Seizo Okamura, m. J. A.
Achievement of solid-state plasma fusion ("cold-fusion")	
Yoshiaki Arata, м. J	J. A., and Yue-Chang ZHANG

After a recess during which the members present met in their respective Sections, the General Meeting was resumed for business transactions.

First, the President announced that Dr. Hideo NISHIMURA, M.J. A., had passed away on October 17, 1995; Dr. Takeo SUZUKI, M.J. A., on December 9, 1995. The members rose from their seats in silence, expressing profound sense of grief.

Next, the chairmen of both Sections made reports of the matters dealt with at the respective Sectional Meetings.

Finally, the recommendations of both Sections for the new Membership of the Academy, were accepted unanimously. The new members elected are:

Section I: Yoshinori Takeuchi (Philosophy, Phylosophy of Religion), Matsuo Ara (South Asian History), Hiroshi Tsukishima (Japanese Linguistics), Chie Nakane (Social Anthropology), Hisayasu Nakagawa (French Literature), Ichiro Kawamoto (Commercial Law, Securities Regulation).

Section II: Fumio Oosawa (Biophysics), Izumi Yokoyama (Volcano Physics), Jun-ichi Nishizawa (Electronics and Communication), Gakuzo Tamura (Microbiology), Yasuyuki Yamada (Agricultural Chemistry (Plant Molecular & Cell Biology)), Wataru Mori (Pathology), Masanori Otsuka (Pharmacology), Tadamitsu Kishimoto (Immunology).

The Meeting adjourned at 4:47 p.m.