THE SUMMER MEETING IN EUGENE

The seventy-fourth summer meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held in Eugene, Oregon, from Tuesday through Friday, August 26–29, 1969. All sessions were held on the campus of the University of Oregon. There were 1398 persons in attendance, including 824 members of the Society. This meeting of the Society was held in conjunction with meetings of the Mathematical Association of America, the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, Pi Mu Epsilon, and Mu Alpha Theta.

There were two sets of Colloquium Lectures, each consisting of four lectures. Professor Raoul Bott of Harvard University presented the first series of Colloquium Lectures, entitled On the periodicity theorem of the classical groups and its applications. Professor Bott was introduced at his four lectures by Professors C. B. Morrey, Everett Pitcher, V. L. Shapiro, and R. S. Palais. The second set of Colloquium Lectures was given by Professor Harish-Chandra of the Institute for Advanced Study. His subject was Harmonic analysis on semisimple Lie groups. The four presiding officers at Professor Harish-Chandra's lectures were Professors C. B. Morrey, C. E. Rickart, Hyman Bass, and V. S. Varadarajan.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Annual and Summer Meetings, there were three invited addresses. Professor Robion C. Kirby of the University of California, Los Angeles, presented a lecture entitled On the existence and uniqueness of triangulations of manifolds. He was introduced by Professor P. Emery Thomas. Professor Murray Gertenhaber of the University of Pennsylvania lectured on Algebraic deformation theory. The introduction of Professor Gerstenhaber was made by Professor C. W. Curtis. The third invited speaker was Professor Paul F. Baum of Brown University. The title of his lecture was Vector fields and Gauss-Bonnett. Professor Baum was introduced by Professor Harley Flanders.

There were twenty-eight sessions for the presentation of contributed papers. The following persons presided at these sessions: P. M. Anselone, D. E. Arganbright, S. P. Avann, R. B. Barrar, R. A. Beaumont, F. J. Flaherty, J. B. Garnett, Myron Goldstein, R. W. Heath, D. P. Kraines, S. P. Lloyd, A. T. Lonseth, E. A. Maier, E. A. Michael, H. Y. Mochizuki, D. G. Moursund, Michael Papadopoulos, Father J. H. Raymond, P. L. Renz, K. A. Ross, B. M. Schreiber, W. P. Scott, A. L. Stone, J. M. Van Buskirk, L. E. Ward, Jr., V. C. Williams, C. R. B. Wright, F. H. Young.