THE ANNUAL MEETING IN MIAMI

The seventieth Annual Meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held at the University of Miami, Coral Gables, and Miami, Florida, on January 23–27, 1964, in conjunction with meetings of the Mathematical Association of America. All sessions were held at the University of Miami with the exception of the Gibbs Lecture, which was held at the Everglades Hotel. Registration at the meeting was 1493, including 1196 members of the Society.

The thirty-seventh Josiah Willard Gibbs Lecture was delivered by Professor Lars Onsager of Yale University at 8:00 P.M. on Friday, January 24, 1964. His lecture was entitled *Mathematical problems of cooperative phenomena*. President Doob presided.

Professor Deane Montgomery of the Institute for Advanced Study delivered his retiring Presidential Address, *Compact groups of transformations* at 9:00 A.M. on Friday, January 24. Professor Montgomery was introduced by Professor R. L. Wilder.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Summer and Annual Meetings, hour addresses were given by Professor Morton Brown, of the University of Michigan, at 9:00 A.M. Thursday, January 23, and Professor Heisuke Hironaka of Brandeis University of 2:00 P.M., Friday, January 24. Professor Brown, who was introduced by Professor J. H. Curtiss, spoke on *Topological manifolds*. Professor Hironaka spoke on *Singularities in algebraic varieties* and was introduced by Professor R. D. James.

There were four special sessions of invited twenty-minute papers as follows: in geometry, organized by Herbert Busemann and with speakers Herbert Busemann, Louis Auslander, R. H. Bruck, L. W. Green and T. F. Branchoff; in finite groups, organized by Walter Feit and with speakers Walter Feit, Daniel Gorenstein, Marshall Hall, Donald Livingstone, and M. Suzuki; in homological algebra organized by D. A. Buchsbaum with speakers Maurice Auslander, Hyman Bass, D. A. Buchsbaum, Peter Freyd, and R. O. Swan; in partial differential equations with speakers D. G. Aronson, David Gilbarg, Peter Lax, Ralph Phillips, and Leon Ehrenpreis, organized by David Gilbarg.

There were 26 sessions for contributed papers, at which the following presided: Casper Goffman, Walter Rudin, Lowell Paige, Jack Segal, B. L. Sanders, Donald Potts, Allan G. Anderson, Melvin Henricksen, Edward Duda, Bill Jenner, Emmett Low, A. T. Butson, W. T. Kyner, Seymour Ginsberg, John Nohel, P. E. Bedient, Donald Austin, E. H. Connell, R. P. Hunter, Howard Taylor, Paul