THE APRIL MEETING IN NEW YORK

The five hundred sixty-seventh meeting of the American Mathematical Society took place on Thursday through Saturday, April 14–16, 1960 at the Hotel New Yorker in New York City. About 750 persons attended including 444 registrants from the membership of the Society.

A Symposium on Hydrodynamic Instability and Related Problems, sponsored by the Society with the financial aid of the Office of Ordnance Research, was held on Thursday and Friday. The Chairman of the Organizing Committee was Professor Garrett Birkhoff of Harvard University. The Proceedings of the Symposium are to be published by the Society under the editorship of Dr. Richard Bellman of RAND Corporation, Professor Birkhoff, and Professor C. C. Lin of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

A Symposium on the Structure of Language and its Mathematical Aspects, jointly sponsored by the Association for Symbolic Logic, the Linguistic Society of America, and the American Mathematical Society with financial support from project FOCUS of the Institute for Defense Analyses, was held on Thursday and Friday. The chairman of the Program Committee was Professor Roman Jakobson of Harvard University and the Secretary of the Symposium was Professor E. S. Klima of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The Proceedings of the Symposium are to be published by the Society with Roman Jakobson as editor.

On Friday afternoon, by invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Eastern Sectional Meetings, Professor Peter D. Lax of New York University addressed the Society on *Harmonic analysis*. He was introduced by Dr. Brockway McMillan.

On Saturday afternoon, by invitation of the same committee, Professor N. C. Ankeny addressed the Society on *The theory of representations by quadratic forms*. Professor E. R. Kolchin introduced the speaker.

There were nine sessions for contributed papers; including a session for late papers. The session chairmen were Professors J. H. Barrett, R. E. Fullerton, Frank Harary, Joachim Lambek, Dr. J. J. Levin, Professors B. E. Rhoades, Moses Richardson, J. B. Rosser, and Dr. William Chace Taylor.

The Council met on Friday afternoon, April 15, 1960.

The Secretary announced the election of the following fifty-eight persons to ordinary membership in the Society: