## NOTES

Mr. D. L. Herr of Hughes Aircraft Company, Culver City, California, was awarded an A. Cressy Morrison prize for 1950, by the New York Academy of Sciences.

Dr. R. C. Briant of Mellon Institute of Industrial Research has accepted a position as division director with Union Carbide and Carbon Corporation, Oak Ridge, Tennessee.

Dr. Eugenio Calabi of Princeton University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Louisiana State University.

Dr. A. P. Calderón has been appointed to a visiting associate professorship at Ohio State University.

Professor F. R. Bamforth of Ohio State University has been appointed to a professorship at Otterbein College.

Professor W. E. Cederberg of Augustana College and Theological Seminary has retired with the title emeritus.

Professor H. B. Curtis of Lake Forest College has retired with the title emeritus.

Mr. Arie Gaalswyk of the University of California has accepted a position as mathematician in the Aeronautical Research Laboratories of General Mills, Inc., Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Mr. J. E. Hanson has been appointed mathematician at the Applied Physics Laboratory, Johns Hopkins University, Silver Spring, Maryland.

Professor L. A. Hopkins of the University of Michigan has retired with the title emeritus.

Dr. E. R. Keown has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Florida State University.

Associate Professor C. K. Payne of New York University has retired.

Professor W. L. Pickard of the State University of New York has been appointed to an associate professorship at Northern Illinois State Teachers College.

Associate Professor L. V. Robinson of the University of South Carolina has accepted a position as mathematician at the Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland.

Mr. C. W. Vickery has accepted a position as mathematician with V. L. Beavers and Associates, Consulting Engineers, San Antonio, Texas.

Mr. J. L. Nagle has been appointed director of the Real Property Acquisition and Utilization Division, U. S. Public Buildings Service.