NOTES

The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics will hold its ninth Christmas Conference at Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, on Wednesday and Thursday, December 29 and 30, 1948.

The School of Mathematics of the Institute for Advanced Study will allocate a small number of stipends to gifted young mathematicians and mathematical physicists to enable them to study and to do research work at Princeton during the academic year 1949–1950. Candidates must have given evidence of ability in research comparable at least with that expected for the degree of Doctor of Philosophy. Blanks for application may be obtained from the School of Mathematics, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, N. J., and are returnable by February 1, 1949.

Professor Elie Cartan of the University of Paris and Professor Marston Morse of the Institute for Advanced Study have been awarded honorary degrees by the University of Pisa.

Professor Charles Blanc of the University of Lausanne and Professor Albert Pfluger of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology have been elected president and vice president respectively of the Swiss Mathematical Society.

Certificates of Merit have been awarded by the Army and Navy to Professors Marston Morse and Oswald Veblen of the Institute for Advanced Study, to Professor S. S. Wilks of Princeton University, and to Professor A. H. Taub of the University of Illinois.

It has been announced by the U. S. Army that the following mathematicians will constitute the Mathematics Advisory Committee charged with the consideration of questions involving the application of mathematics to Army problems: Dr. Hendrik Bode, Bell Telephone Laboratories; Professor Richard Courant, New York University; Professor John von Neumann, Institute for Advanced Study; Professor J. B. Rosser, Cornell University; Professor H. P. Robertson, California Institute of Technology; Professor J. J. Stoker, New York University. Professor E. R. Lorch of Columbia University will be scientific advisor to the Research and Development Group of the General Staff until February, 1949; he will serve as executive secretary of the committee.

Professor I. S. Carroll of Syracuse University has retired with the title emeritus.

Professor Emeritus Lennie P. Copeland of Wellesley College has received an honorary degree from the University of Maine.

Associate Professor H. E. Jordan of the University of Kansas