NOTES

A conference in topology was held at the University of Michigan on June 24-July 6, 1940. The following lectures were given: Triangulated manifolds and differentiable manifolds, S. S. Cairns, Queens College; Topological functions, E. W. Chittenden, University of Iowa; Uniformity in topological space, L. W. Cohen, University of Kentucky; Extension and classification of continuous mappings, Samuel Eilenberg, University of Michigan; The role of local separating points in certain problems of continua structure, O. G. Harrold, University of Virginia: Abstract complexes, Solomon Lefschetz, Princeton University; Extensions of homeomorphisms in the plane, Saunders MacLane, Harvard University; Periodic and nearly periodic transformations, P. A. Smith, Barnard College; Regular cycles in compact spaces, N. E. Steenrod, University of Chicago; Topology of differentiable manifolds, Hassler Whitney, Harvard University; Uniform local connectedness, R. L. Wilder, University of Michigan; Topological transformation groups and foundations of geometry, Leo Zippin, Queens College. It is planned to have the University of Michigan Press issue, during the coming year, a volume containing these lectures, as well as abstracts of a number of papers which were delivered during the conference.

Johns Hopkins University has conferred the doctorate of laws on Dr. Vannevar Bush, President of the Carnegie Institution of Washington.

Professor Emeritus J. L. Coolidge of Harvard University has been awarded an honorary doctorate of laws by Harvard University.

Duke University has conferred the doctorate of laws on Dean L. P. Eisenhart of Princeton University.

Iowa State College has conferred the doctorate of laws on Professor Maria M. Roberts in recognition of fifty years of service to that college.

After twenty-nine years of service as Johnson Professor of Mathematics at the College of Wooster, Wooster, Ohio, Professor B. F. Yanney has retired with the title Johnson Professor of Mathematics Emeritus.

Dr. H. T. Muhly of Johns Hopkins University and Dr. C. E. Shannon of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology have been awarded National Research Fellowships in mathematics.