## NOTES

Lattice Theory, by Assistant Professor Garrett Birkhoff of Harvard University, has just been published as volume 25 of the series of American Mathematical Society Colloquium Publications. The volume contains 155 pages. The list price is \$2.50, with a discount of twenty-five per cent to members. Orders should be sent to the Society office at 531 West 116th Street, New York City.

In March of this year the Mathematical Society of Hamburg celebrated the two hundred fiftieth anniversary of its founding.

The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics will hold its 1940 summer meeting July 1-3 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. The theme of the meetings is *How mathematics serves our community*.

The fourth annual mathematical symposium at the University of Notre Dame was held April 10-11, 1940, on the foundations of topology. The following papers were presented: On contiguous points, Professor R. L. Moore; The topology of lumps, Professor Karl Menger; Classification of topological functions, Professor E. W. Chittenden; The equal generality of "convergence," "closure," and "neighborhoods," Dr. J. W. Tukey; Partially ordered sets and topology, Dr. A. N. Milgram; The foundations of algebraic topology, Professor Solomon Lefschetz; Lattices and connectivity, Dr. Henry Wallman.

At the meeting of the National Academy of Sciences in Washington, D. C., April 22-23, papers were presented by Professors Harry Bateman, G. D. Birkhoff, Gregory Breit, Edward Kasner, and Marston Morse.

Professor W. D. Cairns, Secretary-Treasurer of the Mathematical Association of America, has announced that the Department of Mathematics of the University of Toronto has won the first prize of \$500 in the third annual William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition, held March 2, 1940. The members of the team were W. J. R. Crosby, J. C. Maynard, G. H. K. Strathy. The second prize of \$300 is awarded to the Department of Mathematics of Yale University, members of whose team were J. E. Brewster, A. M. Gleason, G. R. MacLane. For the third prize of \$200 there is a tie between the Department of Mathematics of Columbia University and the Department of Mathematics of Cooper Union Institute of Technology. The members of the Columbia University team were Laurence Annenberg, Julius Ashkin, Paul Marcus; the members of the Cooper