## NOTES

In addition to the members of the editorial staff of the Bulletin, the following persons have assisted the editors, either by serving as referees or by advising concerning papers offered for publication in the present volume: R. G. Archibald, M. A. Basoco, E. T. Bell, B. A. Bernstein, Garrett Birkhoff, Salomon Bochner, Leonard Carlitz, J. A. Clarkson, Richard Courant, A. T. Craig, H. B. Curry, J. L. Doob, Arnold Dresden, Arnold Emch, H. T. Engstrom, G. C. Evans, Orrin Frink, T. C. Fry, H. L. Garabedian, W. C. Graustein, Einar Hille, T. R. Hollcroft, Harold Hotelling, E. V. Huntington, W. A. Hurwitz, M. H. Ingraham, R. D. James, E. R. van Kampen, R. E. Langer, Lincoln La Paz, Solomon Lefschetz, D. H. Lehmer, E. J. McShane, C. C. MacDuffee, W. A. Manning, H. H. Mitchell, C. N. Moore, H. M. Morse, F. J. Murray, John von Neumann, Oystein Ore, H. A. Rademacher, G. Y. Rainich, W. T. Reid, J. F. Ritt, J. A. Shohat, E. B. Stouffer, J. D. Tamarkin, J. M. Thomas, T. Y. Thomas, E. W. Titt, W. J. Trjitzinsky, R. J. Walker, H. S. Wall, J. L. Walsh, Morgan Ward, J. H. M. Wedderburn, Louis Weisner, W. M. Whyburn, Norbert Wiener, B. C. Wong, Leo Zippin, Max Zorn. The editors desire publicly to acknowledge this service.

The School of Mathematics of the Institute for Advanced Study each year allocates a small number of stipends to gifted young mathematicians and mathematical physicists to enable them to study and to do research work at Princeton. Candidates must have given evidence of ability in research comparable at least with that expected for the degree of Doctor of Philosophy. Blanks for application may be obtained from the School of Mathematics of the Institute, Fine Hall, Princeton, N. J., and are returnable by February 1, 1938.

Professor J. W. Alexander, of the Institute for Advanced Study, Professor D. J. Struik, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Professor Louis Weisner, of Hunter College, have been added to the staff of contributing editors of Science and Society.

The Mittag-Leffler medal of the Mathematical Institute at Stockholm has been awarded to Dr. David Hilbert, professor of mathematics at the University of Göttingen.

Professor Solomon Lefschetz, of Princeton University, has been elected a corresponding member of the Reale Accademia di Scienze, Lettere ed Arti di Padova.

Associate Professor W. E. Byrne, of Virginia Military Institute, has been promoted to a professorship.

Assistant Professor Leonard Carlitz, of Duke University, has been promoted to an associate professorship.