NOTES

In addition to the members of the editorial board of the Transactions of the American Mathematical Society, the following persons have assisted the editors by refereeing papers offered for publication in the volume for 1933: R. P. Agnew, A. A. Albert, A. A. Bennett, A. S. Besicovitch, H. R. Brahana, H. T. Engstrom, L. M. Graves, T. H. Hildebrandt, E. Hopf, E. V. Huntington, M. H. Ingraham, G. A. Miller, S. Saks, W. Seidel, J. A. Shohat, H. S. Vandiver, G. E. Wahlin, J. H. M. Wedderburn. The editors appreciate this assistance and desire to give it this public recognition.

The Indian Mathematical Society has established a new quarterly journal called The Mathematics Student, to be conducted along lines similar to those of the American Mathematical Monthly (see this Bulletin, vol. 39 (1933, p. 857)). Hereafter, the Journal of the same Society will be issued as a quarterly, and will contain only original contributions of an advanced character. Information may be had from S. Mahadeva Aiyar, Presidency College, Madras, India.

The State University of Moscow has begun publication of a journal enentitled Abhandlungen aus dem Seminar für Vektor- und Tensoranalysis samt Anwendungen auf Geometrie, Mechanik und Physik, under the editorship of B. Kagan.

The American Mathematical Society has recently issued the sixteenth volume of its Colloquium Publications, *Algebraic Functions*, by G. A. Bliss. This was published with the cooperation of the National Research Council, with funds provided from its Revolving Book Fund. Copies may be obtained from the Society's office; the price is \$3.00 (to members of the Society, \$2.50).

The British Association for the Advancement of Science will meet at Aberdeen, September 5–12, 1934, under the presidency of Sir William Hardy. Professor H. M. Macdonald has been appointed sectional president of Section A (mathematical and physical sciences).

At the annual meeting of the London Mathematical Society, held November 16, 1933, the following officers and new members of the Council were elected: President, Professor G. N. Watson; Vice-Presidents, Professors A. C. Dixon, G. H. Hardy, G. F. J. Temple; Treasurer, Dr. A. E. Western; Librarian, Professor Harold Hilton; Secretaries, Mr. F. P. White, Mr. W. L. Ferrar; new members of the Council, Dr. M. L. Cartwright, Dr. G. B. Jeffery.

Professor E. H. Neville, of the University of Reading, has been elected president of the (British) Mathematical Association.

Professor A. H. Compton, of the University of Chicago, has been elected president of the American Physical Society.