NOTES

The founding of an international mathematical journal, Compositio Mathematica, is announced by its publisher, N. Noordhoff, of Groningen. The administrative board of editors consists of L. Bieberbach, of Berlin, L. E. J. Brouwer, of Amsterdam, T. De Donder, of Brussels, G. Julia, of Paris, and B. M. Wilson, of Dundee. They are assisted by nearly fifty editors, representing all the principal mathematical countries, including the following Americans: L. P. Eisenhart, E. Hille, S. Lefschetz, and O. Veblen.

Arrangements have been completed for the publication, through the offices of the American Institute of Physics, of the Journal of the Aeronautical Sciences, the official organ of the newly established Institute of Aeronautical Sciences. The Journal will be edited by the president of the Institute, Professor J. C. Hunsaker, head of the department of mechanical engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The business of the Institute of Aeronautical Sciences, including the handling of membership applications and subscriptions to the Journal, will be carried on at its office, 5431 R. C. A. Building, Rockefeller Center, New York City.

An edition of the complete works of H. A. Lorentz is being prepared, under the editorship of P. Zeeman, P. Ehrenfest, and A. D. Fokker. The edition will be in nine volumes, and will include all treatises that have not already appeared in book form. The publisher is Martinus Nijhoff, of the Hague.

At a meeting held at Centenary College, Shreveport, Louisiana, on October 21, 1933, the Southern Intercollegiate Mathematics Association was founded, "to promote and support contests in mathematics and to encourage mutual and intellectual fellowship among its members." The following officers were elected: president, I. Maizlish, of Centenary College; vice-president, J. E. Burnam, of Simmons University; secretary-treasurer, Frances White, of Louisiana Polytechnic Institute.

The Nobel prize in physics for 1932 has been awarded to Werner Heisenberg, of Leipzig; the award for 1933 has been divided between Erwin Schrödinger, of Berlin, and P. A. M. Dirac, of Cambridge.

Professors F. Paschen, formerly director of the Reichsanstalt, Berlin, A. Sommerfeld, of the University of Munich, and R. W. Wood, of Johns Hopkins University, have been elected honorary fellows of the Physical Society of London.

The University of St. Andrews has conferred an honorary doctorate on Emeritus Professor J. E. A. Steggall, who has recently retired after fifty years of service in the chair of mathematics in University College, Dundee.

On the occasion of the celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of the founding of the Graduate School of the University of Pennsylvania, Dr. L. P. Eisenhart,