NOTES

1932.]

NOTES

Beginning with the 1932 volumes, the Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik and the Revue Semestrielle des Publications Mathématiques will be combined into a single periodical, edited jointly by the Prussian Academy of Sciences and the Amsterdam Mathematical Society. It will appear in two parts: one, the successor to the Revue Semestrielle, will appear every two months and will consist only of a list of titles of books and memoirs marked with the index signs used by the Revue Semestrielle and the Jahrbuch, and the other, the successor to the Jahrbuch, will appear semi-annually, and will contain complete abstracts. This journal is published by de Gruyter, of Berlin.

A new journal, the Ergebnisse eines mathematischen Kolloquiums, has been founded under the editorship of Karl Menger, with the assistance of K. Gödel and G. Nöbeling. It is published by Teubner.

A new Japanese journal, of interest to mathematicians, has appeared, the Journal of Science of the Hiroshima University, series A (mathematics, physics, chemistry).

The British Association for the Advancement of Science will hold its annual meeting for 1932 at York, August 31–September 7, under the presidency of Sir J. Alfred Ewing.

The Lazzaro Fubini prize of the Unione Matematica Italiana has been awarded to Giuseppe Scorza.

The Franklin Institute has awarded a Cresson medal to Professor P. W. Bridgman, of Harvard University.

Juan de la Cierva has been awarded the Guggenheim gold medal for the promotion of aeronautics, for his work in the development of the theory and practice of the autogyro.

Professor R. A. Millikan, of the California Institute of Technology, has been awarded the Roosevelt medal of the Roosevelt Memorial Association.

Among members recently elected in the division of science of the Bavarian Maximilian Order for Science and Art are Dr. Walther von Dyck, professor of mathematics, and Dr. Arnold Sommerfeld, professor of theoretical physics, both of the University of Munich.

Paul Painlevé has been appointed Minister of the Air in the Edouard Herriot cabinet.

Professor Paul Stroobant, of the University of Brussels, has been elected correspondent of the Paris Academy of Sciences in the section of astronomy.

Dr. W. L. Bragg, professor of physics at the Victoria University of Manchester, has been elected a member of the Athenaeum, London, under a provision which empowers the annual election by the committee of a certain num-