NOTES

On recommendation of the Council, the Board of Trustees of the American Mathematical Society has concluded a reciprocity agreement with the Unione Matematica Italiana by which the members of each organization have certain privileges in the other. The arrangement, which closely parallels that made with the London Mathematical Society a few years ago, has been made through President S. Pincherle of the Unione. On the one hand, members of the Unione not resident in the United States or Canada may become members of the American Mathematical Society by payment of the initiation fee and half the annual dues. On the other hand, members of the American Mathematical Society not resident in Italy may become members of the Unione without initiation fees on payment of half the annual dues. The rate for such persons is twenty Italian lire yearly. Members of the Society who wish to take advantage of this arrangement by becoming members of the Unione should send their names to the Secretary, 501 West 116th Street, New York, N.Y., who will forward them to the Unione.

The preliminary official program of the International Mathematical Congress to be held in Zurich in 1932, which has just been issued, indicates that the sessions of the Congress will be on September 4–12, that all countries will be represented, and that titles of papers intended for presentation at the Congress should be sent to the Secretary of the International Mathematical Congress, École Polytechnique Fédérale, Zurich. The President of the Committee on Organization of the Congress is Professor R. Fueter. It is the present intention also to hold the sessions of the International Mathematical Union, which is a distinct organization, and of which Professor W. H. Young is the President, during the time of the Congress.

The second International Congress of the History of Science and Technology was held at London, June 29–July 4, 1931, under the presidency of Dr. Charles Singer, of London. The vice-presidents were Professor Gino Loria, of Genoa, and Dr. George Sarton, of Harvard.

The Italian Society of Sciences has awarded its prize in mathematics for the year 1930 to Dr. B. Segre, docent in the University of Rome, for his researches in algebraic and infinitesimal geometry.

The Prussian Academy of Sciences has awarded a silver Leibnitz medal to Dr. Karl Scheel, professor of thermodynamics at the University of Berlin.

The Planck medal of the German Physical Society has been awarded to Professor Arnold Sommerfeld, of the University of Munich.

The Accademia dei Lincei has awarded the royal prize for astronomy jointly to Professors G. Tobetti, of the University of Florence, and V. Nobile, of the University of Naples.