NOTES

Two-volumes of a new Roumanian mathematical journal, Mathematica, have appeared, under the editorship of Professors G. Tzitzeica and D. Pompieu, of Bucharest. Professor P. Sergescu, of Cluj, is secretary of the editorial committee.

The Ninth International Actuarial Congress was held at Stockholm, June 16-20, 1930, under the presidency of Director Sven Palme and Professor E. Phragmen. Four hundred and eighty delegates attended.

The Italian Society of Sciences has awarded its prize in mathematics for the year 1929 to Professor L. Fantappiè, of the University of Palermo, for his researches on analytic functionals.

The Rumford Premium of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences has been awarded to Dr. J. S. Plaskett, director of the Dominion Astrophysical Observatory, Victoria, British Columbia, for his work in stellar spectroscopy.

The University of Freiburg has conferred the honorary degree of doctor of natural philosophy on Dr. F. W. Aston, of Cambridge, for his work on isotopes and other subjects.

Sir William Bragg, director of the Royal Institution and of the Davy-Faraday Research Laboratory, has been elected corresponding member of the Vienna Academy of Sciences.

Cambridge University has conferred honorary doctorates on Professors Albert Einstein and Max Planck, of the University of Berlin.

Professor A. S. Eddington has been raised to knighthood. He has also been elected British honorary fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

The honorary degree of doctor of science has been conferred on Sir James Hopwood Jeans, secretary of the Royal Society of London, by the University of Dublin.

Professor Tullio Levi-Civita, of the University of Rome, has been elected a foreign member of the Royal Society of London.

Professor G. Vitali, of the University of Padua, has been elected a corresponding member of the Royal Academy dei Lincei.

The University of California has conferred an honorary doctorate on Professor Florian Cajori.

Harvard University has conferred an honorary doctorate on K. T. Compton, newly elected president of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Indiana University has conferred honorary doctorates on Dr. C. O. Lampland and Dr. V. M. Slipher, of the Lowell Observatory, Flagstaff.

Lake Forest College has conferred an honorary doctorate on Professor W. D. MacMillan, of the University of Chicago.

Professors P. Franklin and D. J. Struik, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, have been elected fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Science.

A portrait, by Mr. Ralph Clarkson, of Professor E. H. Moore, of the department of mathematics of the University of Chicago, has been presented