BY-LAWS

OF THE

AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

ARTICLE I

OFFICERS

Section 1. The officers of the Society shall be a President, three Vice-Presidents, a Secretary, two Associate Secretaries, a Treasurer, a Librarian, and four Editorial Committees of three members each,—one for the Bulletin, one for the Transactions, one for the Colloquium Publications, and one consisting of the representatives of the Society on the Board of Editors of the American Journal of Mathematics.

Section 2. It shall be a duty of the President to deliver an address before

the Society at the Annual Meeting at which his term of office expires.

Section 3. The Librarian shall have charge of arrangements for the exchange of the Society's publications.

ARTICLE II

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

There shall be a Board of Trustees consisting of five trustees elected Section 1.

Section 2. The function of the Board of Trustees shall be to receive and administer the funds of the Society, to have full legal control of its investments and properties, to make contracts and, in general, to conduct all business affairs of the Society.

ARTICLE III

COUNCIL

Section 1. The Council shall consist of the officers specified in Article I, of ex-secretaries who have served as Secretary for ten years or more, ex-presidents, for a period of six years after the expiration of their respective presidential terms, and of fifteen additional elected members chosen in accordance with Article IV, Section 2.

Section 2. Its function shall be to formulate and administer the scientific policies of the Society and to act in an advisory capacity to the Board of Trustees.

Section 3. At meetings of the Council five members shall consitute a quorum for the transaction of business. Between meetings business may be transacted by a mail vote. This shall require at least fifteen favorable votes and also that the number of these votes be three-quarters of those transmitted to the Secretary before the time announced for the closing of the polls. In case three or more members of the Council request postponement, at time of voting, action on the matter at issue shall be postponed until the next meeting of the Council, unless at the discretion of the Secretary the question is made the subject of a second letter vote, in connection with which brief statements of reasons, pro and con, are circulated to members.

ARTICLE IV

ELECTION AND TERM OF OFFICE OF OFFICERS AND TRUSTEES

Section 1. The term of office shall be two years for the trustees, the President, the Vice-Presidents, the Secretary, the Associate Secretaries, and the Treasurer; three years each for the Librarian, the Editorial Committees of the Bulletin, the Transactions, and the Colloquium Publications, and the fifteen elected members of the Council, five of the latter retiring annually; five years for the representatives of the Society on the Board of Editors of the American Journal of Mathematics. In every case, however, the trustees and officers shall continue until their successors shall have been duly elected and qualified. The President, the Vice-Presidents, and the fifteen elected members of the Council shall not be eligible for immediate re-election to their respective offices.

Section 2. Election of trustees, officers, and members of the Council shall be