## NOTES

The opening number of volume 28, series 2, of the Annals of Mathematics (December, 1926) contains: On the problem of coloring maps in four colors, I, by C. N. Reynolds; Some theorems on deducibility, by C. H. Langford; Note on certain associated systems of linear equalities and inequalities, by L. L. Dines; Some further theorems concerning the formation of chains, by A. Arwin; Note on the extensions of groups to obtain nth roots, by M. H. Ingraham; Periodic solutions of linear differential equations, by W. B. Fite; On the inversion of the order of integration of a two fold iterated integral, by H. J. Ettlinger; The summability of single and multiple Fourier series, by H. W. Bailey; The arithmetic of a general algebra, by O. C. Hazlett.

The Physico-Mathematical Society of Leningrad has begun, in 1926, the publication of a Journal. Most of the articles are in Russian, but abstracts in French, German, or English are provided.

Professor J. C. Fields, president of the international mathematical congress held at Toronto in 1924, reports that the printing of the Proceedings of this congress is now well under way. The completed work will be in two volumes, aggregating about 1800 quarto pages; it is hoped that it will appear in the summer of 1927.

At the annual meeting of the London Mathematical Society, held November 11, 1926, the following officers were elected: Professor G. H. Hardy, president; Professor S. Chapman, Professor A. L. Dixon, and Mr. J. E. Littlewood, vice-presidents; Dr. A. E. Western, treasurer; Professor H. Hilton, librarian; Professor G. N. Watson and Mr. F. P. White, secretaries.

The Paris Academy of Sciences announces the award of the following prizes for 1926: the Poncelet prize to Paul Montel, for his mathematical work; the Francœur prize to Gaston Julia, for his work in the theory of functions; the Montyon prize to Kyrille Popoff, of the University of Sofia, for his Les Méthodes d'Intégration de Poincaré et le Problème de la Balistique Extérieure; the Bordin prize to Serge Bernstein, of the University of Kharkoff, for his Leçons sur les Propriétés Extrémales et la Meilleure Approximation des Fonctions Analytiques d'une Variable Réelle; the de Parville prize to Antoine Alayrac, for his Mécanique de l'Aviation; the Valz prize to Frank Schlesinger, of Yale University, for his astronomical work, especially in the measurement of stellar parallaxes; the Grand Prize in mathematics to E. B. de Fontviolant, for his work on the resistance of materials; the de Joest prize to A. Quemper de Lanascol, for his Géométrie du Compas; the Jules Mahyer prize to Louis de Broglie, for his work in