## BULLETIN

OF THE

## AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

## INCORPORATION OF THE AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

One of the milestones in the progress of the Society was passed on October 27, 1923, when the unincorporated body turned over the conduct of its affairs to the corporation known as the American Mathematical Society. An announcement was made in this Bulletin for June, 1923, that a certificate of incorporation had been filed in the District of Columbia and that a meeting of the corporation had been held; but it was later ascertained that this meeting on May 4, 1923, was legally irregular. In consequence, O. S. Adams, Harry English, J. T. Erwin and H. L. Hodgkins met in the office of Dean Hodgkins, 2033 G Street, N. W., Washington, D. C., on October 22, 1923, at 4.00 p. m., for the purpose of arranging all preliminaries necessary to a final transfer of authority to the corporation at the October meeting of the Society. President Veblen was present by invitation.

Dean Hodgkins was elected President of the incorporators and Professor Erwin, Secretary. A waiver of the notice of meeting, signed by all five incorporators, was read.

A set of By-Laws drawn up by a committee of the Society was adopted. According to the revised By-Laws, Ex-Presidents of the Society will after 1923 no longer be ex-officio members of the Council. The designation "Chicago Section" has been dropped, since the meetings in that region have for many years been meetings of the Society. With the addition of a third Vice-President, it is expected that