## THE APRIL MEETING OF THE AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY.

A REGULAR meeting of the AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY was held in New York City on Saturday, April 29, 1899. Twenty-eight persons were in attendance, including the following twenty-four members of the Society:

Professor Maxime Bôcher, Dr. A. S. Chessin, Professor F. N. Cole, Dr. W. S. Dennett, Professor T. S. Fiske, Mr. G. B. Germann, Dr. A. A. Himowich, Dr. J. I. Hutchinson, Professor Harold Jacoby, Mr. C. J. Keyser, Professor Pomeroy Ladue, Dr. Emory McClintock, Mr. James Maclay, Dr. D. A. Murray, Professor W. F. Osgood, Mr. J. C. Pfister, Professor James Pierpont, Professor J. K. Rees, Professor C. A. Scott, Dr. W. M. Strong, Professor E. B. Van Vleck, Professor J. M. Van Vleck, Miss E. C. Williams, and Professor R. S. Woodward.

The President of the Society, Professor R. S. Woodward, occupied the chair during the morning and afternoon sessions. The Council announced the election of the following persons to membership in the Society: Professor Rosser D. Bohannan, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio; Professor Florian Cajori, Colorado College, Colorado Springs, Colo.; Mr. John S. Morris, Central High School, Philadelphia, Pa.; Dr. John V. E. Westfall, Cornell University, Ithaca, N. Y. Eleven applications for membership were reported. Professor Thomas F. Holgate was appointed Acting Secretary for the Summer Meeting.

The Council announced through the President that, the requisite financial guarantees having already been secured, it was prepared to recommend that the publication of the Transactions of the Society be begun in January, 1900. The By-Laws were then amended, in accordance with the recommendation of the Council, so as to define the status of the Transactions and to provide for the creation of its editorial board. This board consists of three editors appointed by the Council. As originally organized, it is composed of Professor Eliakim Hastings Moore, to serve until February, 1904; Professor Ernest W. Brown, to serve until February, 1903; and Professor Thomas Scott Fiske, to serve until February, 1902.

The following papers were presented at the meeting:

(1) Dr. J. I. Hutchinson: "The asymptotic lines of the Kummer surface."