THE FOURTH ANNUAL MEETING OF THE AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY.

The Constitution of the American Mathematical Society provides for an Annual Meeting in the last week of December, at which the election of officers is held and other important business is transacted. On this occasion also an address is delivered by the President of the Society at the expiration of his first term of office. Coming in the holiday season, when most of the members of the Society are released from their professional duties, the Annual Meeting thus rivals the Summer Meeting in interest and attendance.

The Fourth Annual Meeting of the Society was held in New York on Wednesday, December 29, 1897. Nearly sixty persons were in attendance, including the following thirty-eight members of the Society: Professor M. Bôcher, Professor E. W. Brown, Professor A. S. Chessin, Dr. J. B. Chittenden, Professor J. E. Clark, Dr. A. Cohen, Professor F. N. Cole, Professor T. S. Fiske, Mr. G. B. Germann, Dr. W. A. Granville, Dr. G. W. Hill, Professor H. Jacoby, Mr. J. N. James, Mr. S. A. Joffe, Mr. C. J. Keyser, Professor P. Ladue, Professor P. A. Lambert, Professor G. Legras, Dr. E. O. Lovett, Dr. E. McClintock, Professor M. Merriman, Professor Simon Newcomb, Professor G. D. Olds, Dr. J. L. Patterson, Professor H. A. Peck, Mr. J. C. Pfister, Professor A. W. Phillips, Professor J. Pierpont, Professor M. I. Pupin, Professor J. K. Rees, Rev. G. M. Searle, Professor J. M. Taylor, Professor C. L. Thornburg, Professor J. M. Van Vleck, Professor J. B. Webb, Professor A. G. Webster, Professor F. S. Woods, Professor R. S. ${f Woodward}.$

The meeting extended through two sessions, beginning at 10:30 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. The President of the Society, Professor Simon Newcomb, occupied the chair. The presidential address, delivered at the opening of the afternoon session, was entitled "The Philosophy of Hyperspace."

The Council announced the election of the following persons to membership in the Society: Mr. Joseph Allen, College of the City of New York; Professor Henry Benner, Albion College, Albion, Mich.; Mr. George B. Germann, Columbia University, New York, N. Y.; Professor A. C. McKay, McMaster University, Toronto, Canada; Dr. J. L. Mackay, Edinburgh Academy, Edinburgh, Scotland; Mr. Paul L. Saurel, College of the City