Smooth Perturbations of the Self-adjoint Operator $|\Delta|^{\alpha/2}$

Kazuo WATANABE

Gakushuin University (Communicated by S.T. Kuroda)

1. Introduction.

In this paper we shall consider smooth perturbations of the formal self-adjoint operator $|\Delta|^{\alpha/2}$ in $L^2(\mathbb{R}^n)$, where $\Delta = \sum_{i=1}^m \partial^2 / \partial x_i^2$. We shall first recall some notations in the theory of smooth perturbations.

Let *H* be a selfadjoint operator in a separable Hilbert space *H* with its resolvent denoted by $R(\zeta) = (H - \zeta)^{-1}$, Im $\zeta \neq 0$. A densely defined closed linear operator *A* is said to be smooth with respect to *H*, *H*-smooth for short, if

(1.1)
$$\int_{-\infty}^{+\infty} \|AR(\lambda \pm i\varepsilon)u\|^2 d\lambda \leq c_1^2 \|u\|^2, \quad u \in H, \quad \varepsilon > 0,$$

where c_1 is a constant independent of u and $\varepsilon > 0$. Each of the following conditions (1.2) and (1.3) is equivalent to (1.1) (cf. T. Kato [2]):

(1.2)
$$|\operatorname{Im}(R(\zeta)A^*u, A^*u)| \le c_2^2 ||u||^2, \quad u \in D(A^*), \quad \operatorname{Im} \zeta \ne 0;$$

(1.3)
$$\int_{-\infty}^{+\infty} \|Ae^{-itH}u\|^2 dt \le c_3^2 \|u\|^2, \quad u \in H.$$

Here $c_2 > 0$ and $c_3 > 0$ are constants independent of u and ζ . $\{e^{itH}\}_{t \in \mathbb{R}}$ is a unitary group generated by H, and it is understood that $||Ae^{-itH}u|| = \infty$ if $e^{-itH}u \notin D(A)$. For more details, see T. Kato [2]. A is said to be supersmooth with respect to H, H-supersmooth for short, if

(1.4)
$$|(R(\zeta)A^*u, A^*u)| \le c_4^2 ||u||^2, \quad u \in D(A^*), \quad \text{Im } \zeta \ne 0,$$

where c_4 is a constant independent of u and $\text{Im } \zeta \neq 0$. This terminology was introduced by T. Kato and K. Yajima [3], but the notion itself appeared in T. Kato [2].

T. Kato and K. Yajima proved in [2] that $A = |x|^{-\beta} |\nabla|^{1-\beta}$ with $1/2 < \beta \le 1$ is $-\Delta$ -supersmooth. The $-\Delta$ -smoothness was also proved by other simple methods (see M. Ben-Artzi and S. Klainerman [1], B. Simon [8]) and was extended to the Schrödinger

Received November 19, 1990